Piano Sinfonia: In memoriam Niels Østbye

Piano Sinfonia (2018) consists of three sections in simple rounded binary form. Lindenmeyer systems are extensively employed for the transformations of pitch-class sets and the generation of melodic figures in every section. The L-systems are implemented in my own computer program for algorithmic composition written in Java. The Java program generated the piano part and score files for the sound synthesis and processing software RTcmix, written by Brad Garton and his associates. Its instruments of channel vocoder and additive synthesis instruments written by John Gibson and various filter instruments produced all the synthesized sounds.

I am always inclined to keep dynamics and tempo markings as few as possible. I favor the flexibility of interpretation because of my experience with the greatest piano teacher and a friend of mine Niels Østbye. Every Friday afternoon in his studio at Columbia University in New York, to conclude his piano lesson for me, he played one of J.S. Bach's Concertos for Two Harpsichords together with me. It was such tremendous delight for me to explore inexhaustible possibilities of interpretation of those great Concertos with Niels.

The following is the first two minutes of the piece (12'03"):

Piano Sinfonia (2018) was selected for performance at the 16th Sound and Music Computing Conference (SMC 2019), given a splendid performance by Prof. Victor López Rodríguez of Conservatorio Superior de Música de Málaga at Sala María Cristina in Malaga, Spain, on May 29, 2019, and won the Music Audience Award (Thanks a lot for your brilliant performance, Victor!!). The following photo shows Victor rehearsing the piece in the beautiful concert hall:

Piano Sinfonia was selected for performance and performed by brilliant Korean pianist Jung-Ah An at ICMC 2018 (the 43rd International Computer Music Conference) in Daegu, Korea. The following photo shows Jung-Ah rehearsing the piece:

Piano Sinfonia was selected for performance and beautifully premiered by Prof. Jocelyn Ho of UCLA at the 2018 New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival in New York.

Akira Takaoka

New York
August, 2018

Return to Akira Takaoka's home page.

Copyright (C) 2018 Akira Takaoka